Daybreak Rotary Gives Back


How We Make a Difference

Each year Daybreak Rotary grants tens of thousands of dollars to nonprofit organizations in our community and causes around the world.


Apply for Funds- Grant Application

Organizations interested in applying for a grant from our organization should complete this application


Support Daybreak Rotary

If you'd like to help us raise funds to support worthy nonprofit organizations, consider supporting our biggest fundraiser- the Great Eastern Iowa Duck Race.


Recognizing Service Above Self

The Daybreak Rotary Public Service Award recognizes someone in our community who goes “above and beyond” in giving of themselves, unselfishly, either through their vocation and/or their volunteer efforts.  We especially encourage nominations of individuals who have used their career and professional position to bring about good for our community.

You can nominate someone for this award here.

Past Award Winners

1996 – Mary Hynek, Director of Camp Wapsi Y


1997 – Mary Schoen Clark, Director of MAHP   


1998 – Betty Johnson, Executive Director, SAFE Coalition


1999 – Bob Carson, Volunteer, United Way, Boy Scouts, Red Cross


2000 – Mary Lou Erlacher, The Workplace Learning Connection


2001 – Gayle Glick, International Advisor, Kirkwood Comm. College


2002 – Bob Kucharski, Alliant Energy (retired)


2003 – Helen Arnold-Olson, Long-time Community Activist


2004 – Mike Klappholz, Chief, Cedar Rapids Police Department


2005 – Steve Ovel, Exec. Dir. Gov’t Relations, Kirkwood Comm. College


2006 – Bob Buntz, President & CEO, Horizons


2007 – Bill Quimby, Ret. Professional NFL Umpire/community activist


2008 – Charles Daugherty, Sr., Serve The City